Time Off

“I need to have this time for myself so that I’ll still have something to give my children.”

I never fully understood how important time off is for a full time mother until my wife showed me.

She was longing for a haircut and her hair dyed to somehow hide the evidence of the passing years. She never had the time to visit the parlor though because we don’t have house help. And though I’m more than willing to stay home and tend to the kids while she’s away, she’d be conscience-stricken leaving the kids for a while and she knows also that I’ve already had a lot for the past week that I deserve some rest and so she would just smile and brush off the idea.

But I always see pain in her eyes whenever I see that smile. It stabs my heart inch by inch, the scarcity of words making it more poignant.

Thankfully my mother came over to offer us help. Not a permanent one though but it’d be a temporary sigh of relief especially for my wife. If given the choice however, I’d rather stay at home but she asked me to accompany her and so we both went to the parlor one weekend.

As she was seated in front of the mirror while the pungent-smelling chemicals treat her hair and scalp, I came over to tell her I already miss the kids. Her answer was brief and crisp, sharper than Saint Michael’s double-edged sword shutting me up instantly:

“I need to have this time for myself so that I’ll still have something to give my children.”

Fuck. The onions were too strong.

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

5 thoughts on “Time Off”

    1. Hello Kally thanks for chipping in your thoughts.

      She’s a career woman before we’ve had our kids. She’s also strong willed so I understand how difficult it is for her and it breaks me seeing her depressed.

      Problem here is you just cant get anyone to take care of your little one and so it’s one of the sacrifices we’ve had to make especially her.

      Congratulations Kally, hope your new baby and your whole family’s doing alright 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for your concern. I can put myself in her shoes. I’m a strong career woman before I gave it up to exchange for a life with marriage and child. Sacrifices are not as painful as long she sees the value and impact she has made in others and her own life.

        It’s been 2 weeks now with the new baby. Still coping as a new mommy but I won’t let any worries or negativity get to me. I promise myself to be the most chill mom ever. Hahahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

