My Realizations on Technical Writing Based on the First Ever Police Blotter That I Filed

ayalareport1.jpg
Police Report. Photo from http://www.fiswiki.wikispaces.com

It was only yesterday that I fully realized the importance of  story telling and good technical writing skills that we as writers have to hone (for me at least).

We went to the police to file a blotter regarding an incident with our neighbor (I’ll tell the full story on a later post). And so all of a sudden, I have to recall every detail of every encounter that we had with this pesky neighbor, including the time, setting (on where are each and everyone involved is situated), and the actual conversation in verbatim as much as possible.

I am a poor story teller and I have a lot of difficulties recounting the events but I was compelled to complete the mental picture of what transpired in order to tell the officer how things exactly happened. The policeman jotted the blotter in English, according to how he understood my statements.

When he was done writing, he asked me to affix my signature to the log book containing the blotter. When I read it, the grammar was far from faultless, which is the same for every writer’s first draft but it is enough of a record that would somehow give us some sort of protection. You see, blotters are records written by hand on logbooks which doesn’t get proofread and rewritten for a second time. And so it is very important to read the blotter, being always a “first draft” before affixing your signature. And it is of utmost importance to record the incident in this first draft as accurate as possible.

I realized that the police officer cannot use poetic lines nor use words or clauses with double-meanings, just as I do when writing poetry or whatnots, or else it will paint a different shade on the actual incident. Not all law enforcers though, have faultless grammars as someone who have a post-graduate degree in English but it is necessary that he writes well in English or any other language or dialect that relates the incident as exactly as possible, without any other possible interpretations.

Of all mediums that my words will end up being scribbled at, I never dreamed that any of it will be written in a police blotter. I just had to yesterday, because someone crossed line and so I have to act to protect myself and my family. But even if there is discomfort in writing a factual account with a lot of rules and limitations, there are times when we will be compelled to write as such, as was in my case.

And so once in a while, I find it a good idea to brush up with technical writing, and blogging about structural engineering helps me by instilling in me the required discipline to just shut up and write factually, just as they happen, without my own judgments meddling.

I just need to do a double time because I need to include story telling.

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

4 thoughts on “My Realizations on Technical Writing Based on the First Ever Police Blotter That I Filed”

  1. This post made me sad with two reasons:
    1. The policeman who couldn’t bear deliver the blotter report in an expectant matter since he graduated from a College Degree. (exclude the fact of post-degree)
    2. The papaya stealing went too far from invading your privacy. A small thing which if ever we have “diplomat” to say atleast our wants, I guess hndi na aabot pa kay Manong Pulis. Nadamay pa tuloy ang descriptive report nila Manong Pulis. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hehe yes ading Lenny. this is not to demean the writing skills of the police officer though, I just wish to point out the importance of technical writing na pinangingilagan ng marami pati ako 😄

      actually it’s not the thieves who stole our papayas, it’s the “engineer” who we agreed with to build our fence. he was having problems with his finances and the worst part is resorting to threats which went a bit too far when he did not comply to the prior agreement…

      thanks ading. sapayla kuma ta naragsak daytoy panagbakasyon mo 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

