Of Broken-Hearted Men, Songs for the Broken Heart and Good Old Liquor

Fuck, that’ll hurt big time!

Way back in highschool, I often hear this song about Jimmy and Joni every Sunday. My first reaction when I first heard it was I smirked and told myself ‘that’s one sad dude right there…’

For those who haven’t heard the song or haven’t bothered to read the lyrics, it is a heartbreaking song (go figure). For me, unrequited love is easier to bear like Dante Alighieri’s unrequited affection to Beatrice, than to bear the pain of a would’ve-been/could’ve-been relationship that one will finally realize too late in the end.

Just like Jimmy in the song who might have wished he had said yes earlier (yup he was the one who was asked to say yes) to Joni when she was asking him to wait for her till she grows up. Putting myself in Jimmy’s shoes with all the stated circumstances, I would’ve broken down and got that 1 case of Red Horse beers to drown the pain.

Liquor and tears often come hand-in-hand for a broken hearted man. But for those who take things to the extreme and wish it’d be over much sooner, his love ones should keep away the rope and the handgun and the insecticide.

My heart also goes out to broken-hearted military men. Nothing breaks a soldier’s heart more than finding out that the one reason he’s keeping himself alive is gone just like that. It’s like dying on two fronts – outside in the battlefield and inside, and one is just as potent as the other.

In the song Dear John, a GI fighting on the fronts of the Korean War receives a letter from his girl saying she’s dumping him and that she’d be marrying John’s brother Don. I bet John wished the war won’t be over soon. And maybe when he comes home he’d be aching to break a tooth or two of his brother.

Although some may get reunited and have a happy ending – in a different kind of way. In Whiskey Lullaby, they found out in the end that they still love each other and good news is, they got together again – in the grave. I don’t know. If I was that soldier, I wished I would’ve died in the battlefield and never came home alive. It would’ve been much easier that way.

Expressing grief in losing a girl, in my opinion is best done with a bottle of spirit and a guitar or videoke machine. Especially if it’s raining. No one would recognize the tears from the raindrops. Because what’s left at the end of a broken heart is what is essential- pride. It’s what’ll drive you to find someone more worthy of loving, a lady who’s willing to reciprocate your affection. You can ask the Everly Brothers. I’m sure they’ll agree with me.

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

3 thoughts on “Of Broken-Hearted Men, Songs for the Broken Heart and Good Old Liquor”

Leave a Reply

