“Thy Will be Done” Is a Scary Sentence

The words “Thy will be done” still freaks the hell out of me.

wwwDOTfineartamericaDOTcom.jpg
Photo from http://www.fineartamerica.com

It bugs the shit out of me.

Not that I can do anything about it. I believe in one God. And I also believe that He’s all powerful. I can fool myself that I am wearing this God’s-will-proof vest on knowing and believing that I can fight my way to avert it when in reality, I’m naked and as helpless as a new-born infant in His presence.

It’s not that I know better than He does. Aside from being all powerful, He’s also all-knowing. He knows my love, my lusts, my deep seated worries and my strengths. I may be able to hide a part of what it’s like being a man and human with all its splendour and evil to my fellow but not to Him. He sees right through my deceit, my mind and my heart.

If He wills it, it will come to pass.

But why do I make a fuss out of it? It’s because of my limiting belief that I know better than He does. And in turn I have reduced His unlimited power to something insignificantly smaller than what He can really do. I have reduced Him to a liar, someone who’s unworthy of my trust.

I have reduced Him to someone as small and insignificant as ME!

The words “Thy will be done” still freaks the hell out of me. But even without me saying it or admitting it and even if I vehemently deny that He has the choice, yes it will be done if He wills it.

But I will not cease to do the things I believe are good and true and I will never cease to pray and plead for myself and the people that I care about…

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

10 thoughts on ““Thy Will be Done” Is a Scary Sentence”

  1. Always remember this Kuya Engineer:

    John 3:16

    “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” 🙂

    Wag si Austin 3:16 iba yun hahahaha

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Miss Walrus.

      It’s just sometimes, I wish God and me would be consistently compatible with the things I wish would happen in my life along with the lives of the people that I care about. You know things like all going well and all that stuff.

      It’s been a while eh? 🙂 Thanks for dropping by. Wish Alessandro’s fine…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t rush things with God. He wants things to be taken slow. No good result ever comes easy. Positive attracts positive so if you keep on worrying on things that shouldn’t be worried about, it will always be a cycle of worry. Yep, you’re welcome as always! 🙂 She’s doing great. Thanks for asking! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Ann!

      Yup it’s the stubborn me make-believing that I am the man who has his world figured out when in God’s sight I’m a hopeless human lost in Shitdom!

      Thank you for dropping by and I’m glad that this resonated with you…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Always remember that His thoughts and ways are higher than ours. I sometimes question Him a lot of why questions but I still keep on holding on to my faith in Him.

    If something very bad happened to us, is it really God’s will? God permits everything in this fallen world. Just like you said, it’s better to be positive and hopeful for His promises than to become bitter pondering on the worse things of life. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks.

      I appreciate your thoughts regarding this. I just can’t remember I said anything about being on the bright side and being hopeful, but it’s good to hear. Hopefully someone in need will find peace in your words as much as I did.

      Regards krn,

      Like

      1. You said that you will never cease to pray and plead for yourself and for the people you care about and I think that’s being hopeful. 😉 Hopeful that God will answer all our prayers. We ask God for something and thus hopeful that we’ll receive that in time. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

