Life Begins When You Have Eyeglasses… and You’re 30

Photo from www.dragoart.com
Photo from http://www.dragoart.com

I now have four eyes.

I tried hard to control my anticipation five days earlier and finally it’s here.

I purchased one during our annual medical exam. Good news is I still have a 20-20 vision. Nevertheless the eye doctor told me that I can have protective glasses while using the computer, while reading, and while eyeing the new office receptionist. For the third reason, I never hesitated for a second.

When I tried it on the first time, I know we’ll be together for quite sometime. One of my officemates noticed immediately. She told me, “you look totally different.”

I know. It was supposed to.

I always wanted to work in design even before I graduate and to have glasses so that I can look geeky and sophisticated, enough to convince the interviewer to put me in an office and not in the field. Sad but true, graduates from far-flung state universities are given much less priorities than those coming from prestigious schools. Engineers coming from the latter are immediately trained for generalship while those from the former are doomed to start from privates, fourth class at that. Unless you prove them wrong otherwise.

Problem is, my credentials then weren’t that strong to convince companies to take a chance on me.

I needed to have a job and start my professional life so I landed my first job as a site engineer. I was baked under the sun, drenched in the rain and worked with people much more difficult and complicated than women and rocket science.

Through years of persistence of crawling my way up my career ladder, I managed to get in my company right now. Thanks to divine providence, my experience, luck – and all of these I did without glasses.

Now, I finally know how it feels like behind the lenses. Bad thing is, this is a sure sign of the inevitable – I’m getting old. Life is already beginning at 30 and I’m so damn excited on where we, along with my new glasses, can go.

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

3 thoughts on “Life Begins When You Have Eyeglasses… and You’re 30”

Leave a Reply

