Of Music and Boredom

A song means more than words told in a tune to me. It’s more of a key. It can unlock doors in my life that either opened itself or something that I opened myself. Some makes me feel nostalgic; others making me damn miserable and angry. Others I wish to be forever buried in the core of the earth.Some songs tickle my funny bones; others throw me into a fit of rage and the bored “augh, not that one…”

Like an earthquake that can strike a building at any angle, even vertical undulating motions (i.e. up and down), music triggers different thoughts for different people.

Photo by franklin.thefuntimesguide.com

Aside from reminiscing feelings of old, what I love about music is the way it bridged friendships and connected me to people like me: restless, focused on a common goal of becoming engineers, and enjoying every fraction of a second. During the junior years of my engineering degree at the university, I’ve had a group of friends I’m proud I had. I could say that they are the next best thing that happened as my company.

I remember how we caroused till the wee hours of the morning just talking, singing and playing guitar with me as the guitar man. The songs that we love as a group are the collection of Tunog Kalye songs – OPM music featuring the Eraserheads, Siakol, Parokya ni Edgar,and Rivermaya among others. We would sing our hearts out ‘till the last drop of wine had been drunk and the last cigarette stick consumed, or until somebody in the neighborhood is already shouting contempt and curses. Haha! How I miss those times.

I will never forget Maribel, Chantilly, Rona, Teddy, Jay-ar, Jason, and Julius and how our friendship flourished thru music. I remember one time in the school when a friend from the other engineering departments taunted us by shouting in a crowded place that we were the F4! It was so embarrassing as other students from all direction stared at as with raised eyebrows. Well who cares? And who knows, if only a manager back then gave us a chance maybe we did not become engineers that we are today?! Hehe. Big deal.

And thus, the nickname Galingzoo (meaning “from the zoo”; variant/taunt of lead character Dao Ming Zhu in the hit series before the K-Pop domination), the way we addressed each other was born.

Maybe I’m still too attached to the past that I am still trying to find people like them. All of us were born in the ‘80s, while the government was being transitioned from dictatorship to democracy. Maybe it was one of our common grounds, aside from being promdis (diminutive of “from the province”, sometimes used as a derogatory remark) dreaming of a grander future for ourselves and our families.

Both music and my guitar still serve as my consoler today; my ever faithful companion as they never left me. I have no drinking buddies left as some of them are abroad, some working on a far city or province, and some are too busy to be obliged to drink. I tried to build or gather new members for my “Alcoholics Anonymous Club” but none seem to bother. It’s pathetic drinking alone so I guess I’ll have to stick with music for the mean time.

There are songs that trigger my fancy. Some of which strike me in a different way. And the following are but a few of them:

1. Seksi seksi by Kamikazee

This automatically plays in my head whenever I go for a discreet stare with babes who dare to display their “talents” through enhancements. As Jay Contreras (lead vocals of the band) puts it “pasensya ka na miss hindi ko mapigilan, ang tulad mo kasi ay kay sarap titigan (I’m sorry miss I can’t help it, your type is very pleasing to look at)“. And this runs in my head as I see dames in their short shorts with barely an inch of fabric below the crotch; a gal wearing short elastic skirts which she incessantly pulls down after every 5 meters of pace; plunging necklines which she tries to hide with her shoulder-length hair with heads bowed; visible T-back lines on an almost transparent skirts and slacks; 3rd degree curves on tight-fitting apparel shaming Kim K., a promising “future” and a perfect “past”.

Photo by http://www.worldstyles.com

It gives me the “rush”. Ok I’m just a man. Call it an art, a way to display individuality, self-expression, self-confidence to your given gifts or whatever. What I find strange and funny is that they give you a sharp and piercing stare if you gaze at them longer than 1/10th of a second. Please, may I inform you ladies in case you don’t know it yet, a straight guy would not look at it as a fashion kind of thing for crying out loud!

2. Shut up and let me go by the Ting Tings

The song sung by “bagong raspa” on my Bluewave experience. And it reminds me of Tita Maui and of course, the beautiful and talented singer. I think I wouldn’t be able to just shut up and let her go if she sits beside me, getting drunk and listening to the live band.

3. I will survive by Cake

I don’t care about the world. I walk like I’m the only human left in the planet. And I love the how base guitar was played.

4. Tameme by Jolina Magdangal

This is what happens when you mix drinks, swimming, and a class night out during my years at the university. We rented a video karaoke when she sang the song. While singing, everybody else present just conspired and teased me that I’m the tameme (a guy who doesn’t have the nerve to ask a girl out) that she is singing about. I got pressured and gave in and I stupidly pretended and acted as her “guy”. As expected, it never worked out. This is quite embarrassing and awkward so I won’t elaborate further. I didn’t even put a link on it, go find the song yourself.

5.Bring me to life by Evanescence

My ex-girlfriend gave me a cd of compiled songs and this is my favorite track on it. Now whenever I and my wife hear it, she would ask me “who do you remember with that song?” and gives me a meaningful stare. I don’t answer her as I try to suppress my chuckle. She would then insist with a knowing look until I burst out laughing.

I find it so sexy and alluring for the band’s singer with a soprano voice accompanied with wicked guitars!

6. Chop Suey by System of a Down

My favorite part is the “I cry when angels deserve to die.” I wrote an article at a school paper during my junior years at the university which depicted the same ex-girlfriend described above as an angel. In the story, she was slain by a fellow angel because of an attempted murder – of me. A byproduct of a broken heart it was. ‘Twas a sweet revenge and strangely, it had been a segue for healing and closure.

7. I just want to live by Good Charlotte

No other band said it so simply as Good Charlotte. “I just want to live, don’t really care about the things that they say…” It’s very like me as what my ex-girlfriend (my wife now, not the slaughtered angel) told me. Well said baket (an Iloko term of endearment).

8. The Philippine National Anthem

When this was being sung in the boxing ring before a slugfest of Manny Pacquiao on his way to glory a few years back, I felt a sense of pride coupled with shivering. When it will be rendered on his future fights after being knocked out cold by J.M. Marquez, and to other Filipino boxers, it gives me the creeps.

When not sung in the ring, I find myself wishing the best for this country. And I’m wishing for the corrupt government officials to be teleported to the sun for incineration.

10. Come what may by Air Supply

Ok, I know that this can get a little cheesy that I imagine a human-sized Colt 45 bottled beer falling onto me. I don’t know how come I just told my wife that a part of the song was meant for her and it’s in the coda: “…and when it seems my dreams they all slipped through my fingers, when they just can’t be found, I turn around and there they are, shining in her eyes…” Yeee!!! I’m covering my face now with both hands.

9. All Pop and Hiphop

Not a fan. Sorry but these piss me off. I would rather prefer silence. Thanks to Jam88.3 for banning these on their Friday Slide.

So there you go. What’s your story? Care for a bottle of beer with me?

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

1 thought on “Of Music and Boredom”

Leave a Reply

