The Elevator Theory

I asked my officemate to accompany me during break time to the 4th floor of the building where we work. On our way back up, I noticed on the controls that only two buttons of floors from the 5th to the 9th floor were not lit. “Oh man,” I told myself. “Do we really have to stop to almost all floors before we reach the 9th floor?” I can get very impatient at times. When I want something, I want it now like instant coffee.

When we finally arrived at our floor, I told my friend my deductions on our elevator ride a few seconds ago and related it to something in real life. My friend as well gave his own perceptions, totally different from mine.It’s just then that I realized that this is something worth writing. It’s as if God was patting my shoulder and showing me the moral lesson that I need at the moment,out of an ordinary and otherwise mechanical experience.

www.artforspeakingforsuccess.com

I can no longer wait to share these insights so here we go:

1. No matter how you want to go directly to a floor, if there are other people, you’d have to wait.

Even if you’re in a hurry to get where you wanted to, if the situation, circumstances, and God does not permit it, you’re stuck and bound to wait.

2. If there are other passengers and all the buttons are pressed on the control panels, you’d have to go through one floor at a time.

Sometimes, we have to accept the fact that we must move forward one floor, one step at time. You cannot be the design manager without undergoing engineer or senior engineer level. In a structural engineering point of view, it will mean disaster if you lack the proper training and knowledge on how to properly design and keep that skyscraper up.

www.gablepr.com

3. Even if you’re going floor by floor, if you stay put, you’re guaranteed to get to your floor.

Unless you have a private lift or a chopper to get you on the roof in a jiffy (but even that will take some time!), you will have to wait because you know your dreams are ahead of you.If you’re determined to get to your floor, your ultimate dream for yourself or perhaps your family as well, you will wait because you want, and you need to get there.You just need to have patience which is unsurprisingly very rare these days.

And since it’s mostly a waiting game, it’s left to you on how you react to the current situation. You can get pissed, moan, and rant like me (although it’s very tiresome complaining, believe me.) Or you can get excited and anticipate what’s waiting for you on your floor. You can prepare for whatever you’re looking forward to in life while waiting for the right time.

There are a lot of times that I myself, need to wait for my turn.In the meantime, I can arm myself with the things I need, skills that I must master, and to continually outdo my own self, not trying to compete with everyone in existence.

www.wiredforleadership.com

I fully believe that in His good and perfect time, when the situations call for it, when the circumstances are in conjunction with my plans, when I already possess the qualities and the skills that I need, I will get there on my floor: without interruptions, and without the frequent stops. And I will claim my dreams that I have set for myself and which God has lovingly prepared for me.

 

 

Photo credits (in no particular order)

www.artofspeakingforsuccess.com

www.gablepr.com

www.wiredforleadership.com

Author: The Romantic Alpha

Aside from physical and intellectual strength, a man is also given a heart to feel and share love and value. Dive into the mind of the alpha, feel his heart beat, and let me carry you with my strong yet gentle hands. I'm continuously innovating myself to be a better man, husband, father, friend, and structural engineer. Love's not overrated. The world needs the true essence of which.

Leave a Reply

